- Click Here to visit Midwest Amphicar. Your premiere source for restoration, service, tranny rebuilds, and more.

          - Check out Gord Souter Amphicar Parts & Restoration. 700+ items. Interior kits and fibreglass panels my specialty!

Welcome to The Amphicar Lovers Digest / Forum  
  HOME   Gallery Classifieds REGISTER FAQ Members Calendar Mark Forums Read Chat DONATE

Welcome to The Amphicar Lovers Digest / Forum.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, search the thousands of posted messages, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.
  
Go Back   Welcome to The Amphicar Lovers Digest / Forum > Amphicar Main Forum > Amphicar Lovers Yahoogroup Archives
Reload this Page amphicar on ebay
Please Support Our Sponsors
 ROCKY MOUNTAIN AMPHICAR. No Amphicar is too far! Buying (rewards offered), selling, repair, restorations & free advice.
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Re: amphicar on ebay
Old
  (#1 (permalink))
lah20car@aol.com
 
Posts: n/a
   
Re: amphicar on ebay - 12-05-2007, 07:19 AM




In a message dated 12/5/2007 9:20:24 AM Central Standard Time, kmcatee@insightbb.com writes:
Does anybody know about the 1962 on
ebay


Does anyone know how that listing works??????????

When you first click on it the real ad shows up with a bid window but after about 10 seconds it changes with a fake-- buy it now window-------------is it a hacker or a way for that seller to keep the auction private as it says on the top.

Or is it just my computer and a few others with maybe not enough protection from hackers???

Pretty strange way to sell a car but who knows ---------------the angle of "The Best One You Will See" is not working out, so maybe another way to separate people and money





Check out AOL Money &; Finance's list of the hottest products and top money wasters of 2007.

  
Re: amphicar on ebay
Old
  (#2 (permalink))
capon23@aol.com
 
Posts: n/a
   
Re: amphicar on ebay - 12-05-2007, 09:07 AM



I sent a email to the seller from one of his old listings to see if he can shed some light on the auction.I see the auction as 11 bids at 15k. but when you open it, it shows buy it now at 5k and starting bid $1. Here is what I sent him...

Dear thech1ld,

your Amphicar listing seems to be taken over by a hacker. It shows a buy it now of $5000.00 is this correct or what is the deal?? thanks, John


- capon-23

Cigarman



Check out AOL Money &; Finance's list of the hottest products and top money wasters of 2007.

  
amphicar on ebay
Old
  (#3 (permalink))
taildraggerp
 
Posts: n/a
   
amphicar on ebay - 12-05-2007, 09:19 AM


Still looking for an amphicar. Does anybody know about the 1962 on
ebay. its close to my house to go look at. kenny

  
Re: amphicar on ebay
Old
  (#4 (permalink))
Eric M
 
Posts: n/a
   
Re: amphicar on ebay - 12-05-2007, 11:40 AM


For what its worrth I know nothing about the car in
question. But I know if I was looking for another
Amphicar I would make a point of seeing any car in my
area. You learn a lot by touching and feeling them.

Years ago John Bevins came to Wisconsin to buy an
amphicar. In pictures it looked pretty decent but
after watching john run a magnet over it for a hour it
turned out to be something else. I've also tagged
along with Dave the wave pulling an old car out of he
garage. Its a good thing.

The more you look at them the better your final
decision will be.

Eric
--- taildraggerp <kmcatee@insightbb.com> wrote:

> Still looking for an amphicar. Does anybody know
> about the 1962 on
> ebay. its close to my house to go look at. kenny
>
>
>
> THE AMPHICAR-LOVERS LIST
> ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
> Please support our sponsors while ensuring the very
> best restoration services for your Amphicar. Please
> pay a visit to:
> http://www.midwestamphicar.com
>
> The amphicar list is a seperate service from the
> International Amphicar Owners Club. Do join the
> club today at http://www.amphicar.com
>
> To Unsubscribe from this List, just send a blank
> email to:
> amphicar-lovers-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
> Before posting requests for information, please
> check the List
> Archives:
>
>
http://www.escribe.com/automotive/amphicar/search.html
> For more information about this List and other
> available services
> visit:
> http://groups.yahoo.com/group/amphicar-lovers/
> Any other issues may be addressed to the List owner
> (Mike Israel) at:
> amphicar770@yahoo.com
>
>
>
> Yahoo! Groups Links
>
> (Yahoo! ID required)
>
> mailto:amphicar-lovers-fullfeatured@yahoogroups.com
>
>
>

  
Re: amphicar on ebay
Old
  (#5 (permalink))
Bill Connelly
 
Posts: n/a
   
Re: amphicar on ebay - 12-05-2007, 02:01 PM


There's a whole lotta very non-kosher Robby the Robot javalinkage
through spurious Czech servers in that auction source code just waving
its arms and screaming "Danger Will Robinson!"

Highly suggest prospective owners find another Amphi to fixate and
obsess on, baby.

Bilgey

On Wed, 5 Dec 2007 1:19 pm, lah20car@aol.com wrote:
> In a message dated 12/5/2007 9:20:24 AM Central Standard Time,
> kmcatee@insightbb.com writes:
>
>> Does anybody know about the 1962 on
>> ebay
>
> Does anyone know how that listing works??????????
>
> When you first click on it the real ad shows up with a bid window but
> after about 10 seconds it changes with a fake-- buy it now
> window-------------is it a hacker or a way for that seller to keep the
> auction private as it says on the top.
>
> Or is it just my computer and a few others with maybe not enough
> protection from hackers???
>
> Pretty strange way to sell a car but who knows ---------------the angle
> of "The Best One You Will See" is not working out, so maybe another way
> to separate people and money
>
> --------------------
>
> Check out AOL Money Finance's list of the hottest products and top
> money wasters of 2007.
>
>

  
Re: amphicar on ebay
Old
  (#6 (permalink))
mstrug@juno.com
 
Posts: n/a
   
Re: amphicar on ebay - 12-05-2007, 03:55 PM

I reported it to ebay, It ain'tright. He may have been hacked. I suggest not to bid until this is fixed by ebay. Amphigr66n


__________________________________________________ ___________
Click to find moving companies, movers, van lines, and auto transport services. Low prices.

  
Re: amphicar on ebay
Old
  (#7 (permalink))
a_colo_native
 
Posts: n/a
   
Re: amphicar on ebay - 12-05-2007, 06:42 PM


--- In amphicar-lovers@yahoogroups.com, "mstrug@..." wrote:
>
> I reported it to ebay, It ain't right. He may have been hacked. I
suggest not to bid until this is fixed by ebay. Amphigr66n

I also reported it to eBay last night. No response other than the
typical canned reply.

John Bevins

  
 



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
SEO by vBSEO 3.1.0